Country : Malaysia consists of 13 States, 11 State in Peninsular Malaysia (West Malaysia) with Sabah and Sarawak State on Borneo Island in (East Malaysia)
Geographical Location : Malaysia lies 7° north of the Equator with Peninsular Malaysia bordered by Singapore in South and Thailand in north. Sabah and Sarawak border with Indonesia (Kalimantan) and Brunei in East Malaysia.
Area : 329, 758 sq. km, 234 ( Kuala Lumpur)
Capital : Kuala Lumpur is the capital of Malaysia. The new administrative centre is at Putrajaya.
Population : 28 Million people. Malay make up 58% of the population, 30% being Chinese, 10% being Indian and other ethnic groups i.e Iban, Kadazan, Sikh, Eurasian, Orang Asli and more. The population of Kuala Lumpur is approximately 2.5 million people.
Religion : Islam is the official religion of Malaysia, all the other religions of Malaysia are also practised freely.
Language : The official language is Bahasa Malaysia, with English being widely spoken. Other language is the Chinese dialects which include Mandarin, Cantonese, Hokkien and Hakka. The Indian dialects includeTamil, Telegu, Mallayalam and Punjabi. The indigenous people retain their own languages.
Government : Malaysia government is based on Parliamentry democracy and Yang di-Pertuan Agong (the King) who is elected for a five-year term from among nine sultan of the State. Yang di-Pertuan Agong (the King) act as the Head of State and Prime Minister as the Head of the Government.
Economy : Malaysia produces oil, gas, palm oil, rubber, timber, electrical and electronic goods while tourism industry continue to thrive well in the last few centuries.
Climate : Malaysia’s tropical climate is hot and humid all year round. The average temperature range from 21°C to 34°C. Malaysia receives an annual rainfall of 2,000mm to 2,500mm. The dry season is between May and September, while rainy season is between November and February.
Conduct : Public behaviour is important in Malaysia culture. Some common courtesies and customs are as follows:

  • No kissing or embracing in public
  • It is polite to call before visiting a home
  • Shoes must always be removed when entering a Malaysian home
  • Drinks and light refreshments are generally offered to guest. It would be polite to accept.
Business Hours : Department stores and supermarket are open 10.00 am to 10.00 pm daily
Currency : The Malaysia currency is call Ringgit Malaysia. Coins come in 5 sen, 10 sen, 20 sen and 50 sen. Notes are in RM 1, RM 2, RM 5, RM 10, RM 50, and RM 100.
Banking Hours : Malaysia Banking hours are from 0930 to 1630.
Time : Eight hours ahead of GMT and 16 hours ahead of US Pacific Standard Time
Electricity : Voltage is 220-240 volts A/C at 50 cycles per second. Standard 3-pin square plugs and sockets.
Weights and Measures
: Malaysia follows the metric system in weight and measures.
Worship place : Shoes must be removed when entering places of worship such as mosques and temples. Mosque provide scarves and robes for female visitor. Please do not wear sexy dress. Taking photographs at places of worship is permitted but please ask for permission first.